Month of Music in LA – Night 2

I have decided to practice a month of music going of the local music scene. For those of you keeping track of the expenses of the unemployed, it is usually equivalent to the cost of a mocha here in town, or close to. Plus a little gas. Do you realize going to see live music is cheaper than catching a movie here, even at matinee prices?

So, Sunday night the venue was Echo Curio. Echo Curio is a unique feature of Echo Park, an art gallery and curiosity shop that doubles as a venue at night, $5 donations strongly encouraged. Conveniently located across from a liquor store on Sunset, the fact that it is not a bar is not an issue, as the policy is BYOB. Me, out and driving by myself, means I don’t drink. So a non-bar is a great venue for me to attend, no one thinks a thing about me not drinking anything. And as the musicians set up, you can wander about the shop and look at the art. Love it!

Art Interlude, at Echo Curio!

Art Interlude, at Echo Curio!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was the line-up: Corridor/Voice on Tape/Spirit Photography. I was looking forward to Voice on Tape, whose music I had stumbled upon on myspace. But all were good.

Corridor 

Corridor, by the light of Sunset's streetlights at Echo Curio

Corridor, by the light of Sunset's streetlights at Echo Curio

A single singing musician, with acoustic guitar amped, and a cello, and a whole mess of loops and effects. Whenever I see a single artist get up and do his/her thing, just them, their instrument(s) and the audience, no one to bail them out if they make a mistake, just them, naked and alone up there, I am always so impressed with what it takes to be a performing musician. Successful or not. It takes guts. (Or so I think. I think it is a matter of courage to perform in public, being an introvert. Thus why I prefer writing-no obvious public involved! 🙂 ) Fortunately, Corridor was good. In addition to courageous.

Voice on Tape aka Lou.

Lou, with White Loafers, at Echo Curio

Lou, with White Loafers, at Echo Curio

Another single singing musician, with acoustic guitar amped, just he, his guitar and his voice. If Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash or Buddy Holly never existed, would Lou choose to dress and style himself this way? Black hair, parted on the side, with a question mark down the forehead, super thin sideburns, white loafers, and black jeans. He has the indie musician look down. In fact, he reminds me of Elliott Smith, in all the good ways. Great musician, funny, articulate, a little discombobulated, only making him more endearing. He used modern technology to help himself with his set list, texting it to himself on his cell phone. At one point he chose not to sing the next song, starting and then going, “Ya know, you start singing and then you remember why you wrote the song, and you just don’t want to go there again…” Another song he prefaced with a girlfriend admonishing him to write at least one happy song, and the first line of it went “Everyone dies in the end…” The audience laughed. I seem to remember Elliott having similar audience interactions through his painful shyness when he used to play venues in Portland, Oregon. Still miss you Elliott…..

Spirit Photography at Echo Curio

Spirit Photography at Echo Curio

Spirit Photography a guitar and guitar duo, with drum beats and a few other gizmos. One of the guitarists also sang. The guitarist on the left sang, while the one on the right never stopped moving. This was the best I could do with my super unadjustable shutter speed. (I don’t use a flash when a band is performing, if you hadn’t figured out why all my pictures of bands suck so bad.) I’m afraid there are those bands that I prefer their music to their singing. This group straddles that category, and fortunately they spent the majority of their songs playing instruments. Then again, I’m a person who never listens to lyrics for the most part anyway, so perhaps my opinion of bands that are better musicians than singers would change if I bothered to make out the lyrics. But I’ve enjoyed music this long without bothering that hard, why change now? Anyway, the fact that I can’t remember that much about them does not say anything bad about them, it was nearly two weeks ago when I saw them, and at least I remember not hating them! (Faint praise indeed!) Probably one of those bands that I could see a few times before I grow to really like them. Few bands do I instantly like the first time I hear their sound.

A fourth band was supposed to play, but apparently something happened. Whether three or four bands, still an excellent bargain, and in such lovely surroundings!

More Curiosities at the Echo Curio

More Curiosities at the Echo Curio

And that closed out the evening. Off to slumberland, after a very enjoyable night of local music at one of those clubs that the locals are in the know about. Well, and the rest of the world these days, what with Myspace. And if it weren’t for Myspace, I certainly wouldn’t know about it either, truth be told. The difference is, the locals can get to it, while the rest of the world actually has to make the decision to transport themselves there. So, the locals are in force.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

