A Month of Music in LA (3)

As I mentioned, the previous night I went and heard some bands. I was on the guest list at Spaceland, the club I pass every day I go for my walks around Silverlake Reservoir, on the guest list for the club’s artist in residence. Cool.

However, since I met my class group, I was already late for the start, and so walked in during the final song of the first band, Pink Mochi. Nice dress, was the only thing I noticed of the lead singer. It was real rock star, black and shiny vinyl and cut outs here and there. Oh, and the boots with killer heels.

In fact, clothes were what I was really concious of at the club. For some reason, I noticed very distinctive people by their clothing. Wow, what a dress to wear to a club, I thought of a salmon, velvety ruffly number. Maybe I should wear things like that more often at clubs, if other people wear them. Instead of the skirt and loose top I am wearing. Turns out that everyone I thought was dressed distinctively turned out to be a member of one of the bands playing. Isn’t that interesting? Apparently I want to dress like an indie musician.

When I was at the New Year’s Eve party, it was the band members that I noticed at the party and thought, they look like cool people, wish I could hear what they’re talking about…

If I dressed like a cool indie rock musician, would people think I was cool too? 🙂

Next up was Learning Music, a music collaborative in the size and instrumental capacity of the Polyphonic Spree. I counted at least 14 musicians up there on the stage, (but may have missed a few from the columns and people blocking my view), a couple of violinists, horns, guitars, drummers, etc., etc. The great thing about large bands that I have noticed, is the energy. With so many people happily playing away joyfully on stage, the energy and enthusiasm for their music is infectious. Makes ya wanna join a band just for the sheer fun of it!

Next up was Sara Lov, the actual artist in residence the club was sponsoring, she of the salmon velvet dress with ruffly short sleeves. She had a great voice, reminding me of Aimee Mann or Sam Phillips, strong female vocalist with her trusty guitar, backed up with a full band. You could see how her music would lend itself easily for her as a solo performer or with a full band, and what a treat it was for her to perform with a full band.

And last was Modwheelmood. The table at which I sat, the first available seat I saw when I walked in, I shared with a young man with whom I had tried to engage in conversation every break in bands. I had asked him if there was a particular band he was there to see. He said no. I asked why he was there, he said just to hang out. He never moved, he didn’t drink, it seemed odd he was just there because. Maybe he lived down the street. However, the gentleman sitting at the table next to us immediately engaged him conversation, and just in overhearing, he actually lived in Chicago, he was here to see the final band, and they were both Nine Inch Nail fans. Not knowing anything about the band, I had no idea that had any significance. It wasn’t until I got home and looked up  their myspace account, that I understood. One of the members, Alessandro Cortini, was the keyboardist for the last few years and latest tour of NIN, so when I saw them in Chicago at Lollapalooza and again at Voodoo Fest in New Orleans, I had seen this musician then. Hunh.

All I can tell you was I really really liked this band.

One thing that always amazes me is how worth it is to see all the bands on a bill. You never know who you will discover. Sara Lov had the largest audience, perhaps because she was the catalyst for the event. A significant portion of the crowd left when she left the stage. Perhaps it had to do with the hour at that point, it was after 11 and it was a school (or work) night. Also the public on street parking in that area ended at 11, so perhaps that left just us locals who knew where to park or those in valet.

Anyway, this final band? Well worth the wait until midnight to hear them. They were a mix of polish and pop and electronica and an unexpected treat. As I mentioned, I checked them out once I got home, and they have no other performances scheduled. No wonder the guy next to me from Chicago was there to see them. Who knew when they would be in public again? This was a band composed of two men who had other things on their plate, so coordination of schedules was probably their biggest issue. Not that they didn’t want to perform, they just were busy.

And I got to see them.

And was happy I did.

Leave a Reply

