APW 2009 Announced

Darn it. I had it in my mind that I go to the three music festivals I have tickets for currently, with my little month long road trip and visit the folks in Montana, Western States and Canada only, hang up my hat, let my car keys dangle and settle down by mid-June. With a job. To replenish my dwindling funds. But then this shows up in my inbox:

Monday, March 30, 2009 

Friday, July 31: Beastie Boys, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Vampire
Weekend, The National, Fleet Foxes, MSTRKRFT, Q-Tip, The Pharcyde,
Organized Konfusion, The Knux, Ra Ra Riot, Seasick Steve, Telepathe,
Shearwater, Heartless Bastards, Flying Lotus, College Humor Live, Arj
Barker, Eugene Mirman and Bo Burnham.

Saturday, August 1: Tool, My Bloody Valentine, Gogol
Bordello, Arctic Monkeys, Neko Case, The Ting Tings, Yelle, Crystal
Castles, St. Vincent, Tokyo Police Club, The Cool Kids, Kool Keith,
Cage the Elephant, Chairlift, White Rabbits, Electric Touch, The
Postelles, Black Gold, College Humor Live, Tim & Eric, Judah
Friedlander and Jim Jeffries.

Sunday, August 2: Coldplay, Echo & The Bunnymen, MGMT,
The Black Keys, Elbow, Silversun Pickups, Mogwai, We Are Scientists,
Ghostland Observatory, The Gaslight Anthem, Etienne De Crecy, Lykke Li,
Akron/Family, Steel Train, Kitty, Daisy & Lewis, College Humor
Live, Janeane Garofalo, Michael Showalter and Todd Barry.

Tickets for ALL POINTS WEST go on sale Friday, April 3 at 12pm EST
http://www.apwfestival.com

I have never seen the Beastie Boys. And in their home turf area. Never seen Tool. Never seen Coldplay. Never seen Echo and the Bunnymen or Mogwai. Enjoy Fleet Foxes, St. Vincent, Gogol Bordello, Arctic Monkeys, Silversun Pickups and Vampire Weekend. Janeane Garofalo will be performing? And last year’s show was nicely laid out, with its three stages only set up. You could actually see everyone. Crowds weren’t too evil. And this year the festival is the weekend before Lollapalooza, rather than the other way around it was last year. But if I’m already on the East Coast….

Need to focus. Need to get a job. Need money. Correction, all I need is a source of funding, and that does not actually require a job. Just, that’s the way people normally go about it, myself included. Hmm. Tantalizing conundrum.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

