More Festivals! More New Lineups!

So of course the lineup for Lollapalooza was announced last week, and not as I predicted, Jane’s Addiction and NIN will not both be playing. Jane’s Addiction, yes, NIN, no. NIN will be playing in Japan during that weekend.  Trent’s twitter feed has been talking about the band’s practices, his concern for the conflict between opening night of Star Trek and their first show of the tour, and how they have been testing their costumes out, and one will have wings that light up. He’s kidding, right? NIN, costumes, wings? 140 characters per tweet doesn’t leave much room for subtlety, ya know? He’s kidding. So I get to see NIN at Sasquatch and Bonnaroo only.

Here’s the Lolla lineup:

Depeche Mode! Tool! The Decemberists! Arctic Monkeys! The Raveonettes! Bat for Lashes! Glasvegas (who cancelled last minute at Coachella)! While watching The Cure at Coachella, my thought was, if only Depeche Mode were playing too… I get my wish, albeit three and a half months later. Okay, so instead of NIN, where my hopes were, I get Depeche Mode and Tool. I’m good with that.

And Austin City Limits just announced their lineup today too.

the 2009 Austin City Limits Lineup

Pearl Jam

Dave Matthews Band

 

Beastie Boys

Kings of Leon

Ben Harper and Relentless7

Thievery Corporation

John Legend

The Dead Weather

The Levon Helm Band

Ghostland Observatory

 

Sonic Youth

Mos Def

Toadies

Flogging Molly

The B-52s

Lily Allen

Citizen Cope

Arctic Monkeys

The Decemberists

Coheed and Cambria

Andrew Bird

Girl Talk

STS9 (Sound Tribe Sector 9)

Phoenix

Bassnectar

Bon Iver

!!!

Avett Brothers

The Airborne Toxic Event

Medeski, Martin & Wood

Clutch

Michael Franti & Spearhead

Grizzly Bear

Heartless Bastards

Passion Pit

White Lies

 

Dan Auerbach

The Walkmen

The Scabs

Reckless Kelly

DeVotchka

Blitzen Trapper

The Virgins

Here We Go Magic

Eek-A-Mouse

K’Naan

Asleep at the Wheel

Dr. Dog

The Raveonettes

The Knux

Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears

State Radio

Los Amigos Invisibles

The Felice Brothers

Federico Aubele

Raul Malo

Daniel Johnston

Poi Dog Pondering

Brett Dennen

Rodriguez

Henry Butler

Preservation Hall

Sam Roberts Band

The Greencards

Sara Watkins

Walter “Wolfman” Washington

David Garza

John Vanderslice

Zac Brown Band

Todd Snider

School of Seven Bells

The Dodos

Robyn Hitchcock and the Venus 3

Alberta Cross

Deer Tick

Bell X1

Alela Diane

The Wood Brothers

The Parlor Mob

Rebirth Brass Band

Marva Wright

Terri Hendrix

L.A.X.

Lisa Hannigan

The Low Anthem

Sons of Bill

Suckers

Sarah Jaffe

Cotton Jones

The Henry Clay People

Papa Mali

Jypsi

Vince Mira

Jonathan Tyler & The Northern Lights

Mimicking Birds

Jeffrey Steele

Jonell Mosser

Leatherbag

Keith Gattis

Damien Horne

Sarah Siskind

The Dexateens

Nelo

Danny Brooks

Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band

The Soul Stirrers

The Durdens

Palm School Elementary

The Gospel Silvertones

Diaconos

Quinn Sullivan

Ralph’s World

Q Brothers

Milkshake

Telephone Company

Loose Cannons

Lunch Money

I gotta say, I’m feeling a little underwhelmed with this lineup. Then again, of the headliners, I’ve seen Pearl Jam, Dave Matthews, Ben Harper and Ghostland Observatory at least three times each, so those aren’t the draws for me. However, Sonic Youth, Lily Allen and the B-52s are playing, and those I could get excited about. There are plenty of other bands too, like DeVotchka whom I can always see, School of Seven Bells, The Decemberists, Andrew Bird, and how about Mos Def? It’s not that it is a bad lineup, by any means, it’s just that usually it is the big name acts that push me over the edge of whether to attend or not. It is the second or third level acts that I really want to see, and if there is someone playing the closing show for the greater than 45 minute slot that I want to see, that’s what has me buy the ticket. The way I should think about it though, is who is playing the aftershows? Last year, I waited around for the closing acts, and missed the band I bought a ticket to see as an aftershow, because some of the aftershows conflict with the actual event times. So maybe…. I’ll keep my eyes open and see what develops. I would definitely recommend the festival on principal to anyone else; I love this festival, as Austin is a great place to visit and the festival is so wonderfully organized. But for me, this year, it just isn’t calling to me. However, it’s the first weekend of October, who knows what will be going on in my life by then?

And as if that were just not enough, another lesser known festival lineup was also announced yesterday, in Seattle, the Capitol Hill Block Party lineup. A two day Friday-Saturday festival this July 24 & 25, sponsored by an excellent local paper and an excellent local radio station, it is focused on promoting Northwest bands, but if not from the NW, then indie music in particular. Tickets go on sale this Friday, May 1st. At $40 for the two days, it’s a bargain, especially if you already are in Seattle. Sonic Youth is the big name this year. And not only are the bands announced, but the stages and days they will be playing is already up. Me, I already have other plans that particular weekend. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t go last year, as I was in the vicinity, and Feral Children were playing!

Now that all these have been announced, it is time for me to go back to updating my spreadsheet to see what bands I now have second chances to see at my next festival dates. Good times!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

