Update to Previous Posts

So there are always a few things to follow up on from previous posts, and here are the ones pressing on my brain.

Still haven’t bought my ticket for Burning Man, but I had mentioned having found a bustier and tall boots to wear, should I go. Well, when deciding what to wear for the KCRW Radioactive dance across the park, through the tunnel and over the street, I tried them on. Neither fit! I was okay with the bustier, because there is a chance if I continue to lose weight, I might. But the boots! I could get my feet in fine, but could not finish zipping them up because my calves were “too large!” I do not have large calves. Not like professional weight lifter large calves, no. Nor professional bicyclist large calves. Just normal calves, in my mind. I’ve never had problems with pants being too tight on my calves, this is my proof I am normally proportioned in the calf area. But perhaps this was why there was a large pile of these boots available for cheap at Goodwill, because they did not fit normal anatomical proportions? And mind you, I got a size slightly larger than what actually fit my feet, because they are boots, and this way I could have a variety of stockings, socks, or pant legs inside, was my thinking. But alas. They now go in the give to Goodwill pile.

I’m having second thoughts about selling the car. I told the gentleman involved. He said, funnily enough, his problem was resolved, because once he told his partner of his plans, including parking said vehicle over in his neck of the woods, where there was free on-street parking, his boyfriend said to just borrow his car! So his stress about not having access to a vehicle was resolved by having a conversation, instigated by my offer to sell to him.

In the meantime, he told a neighbor friend of his about the car, and he too lives downtown, would have the same parking issues in owning it, and mentioned my neighborhood was only a subway ride away. So the new thought I am thinking about is, possible shared ownership, so I can gradually transition out of owning the car. I mean, I was planning on having the car so I could go from San Francisco’s Outside Lands Festival straight to Burning Man. This would be a much easier solution to take a week’s supply of food and camping supplies with my own car already packed. That is, if I were going. And it being parked near me would make shared ownership a lot easier for me, you have to admit. So now I have someone new to have this conversation with. To say nothing of once I get back from this month long trip, I might need a car to easily get to job interviews. This could work.

Of course, true to perfect timing, the car has started flashing a red warning light that needs to be checked out, and I only have three days to make any necessary repairs. Isn’t that the way it usually goes?

And finally, on to concert news. The Austin Hostel I stayed at last year sent me an email reminding me to book my accomodations if I am planning on returning this year for Austin City Limit’s Music Festival, hands down one of the best organized festivals in the country, and ACL is the one fest that I have been hesitant about attending, only because the line up for headliners did not inspire me. I thought I had plenty of time to decide, I mean it isn’t until early October, and ticket sales for all the other festivals have been slow, as evidenced by extended deadlines past the originally stated offerings for options like layaway plans and such. Not even Coachella sold out this year, which it has sometimes in the past. No, not ACL. Apparently others agree it is the festival to be at, and the three day passes are already SOLD OUT! So much for waiting to decide later. Then again, I could always try to volunteer; since I am not inspired by the lineup, this would be a good year to make such a commitment, since I won’t really care if I miss anyone. Well, any of the headliners, at least. I could find some bands to be excited about that aren’t playing at any other festival I plan on attending. Because I of course already added the ACL lineup to my spreadsheet of comparative festival lineups… Just in case I decided to go.

Austin City Limits 2008

Austin City Limits 2008

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

