Cell Phone Companies to Standardize Chargers

in Europe.

They agreed to have a standard for all the cell phone companies that signed the agreement. By next year. Significantly diverting unwanted cell phone accessory waste from landfills was the stated reason.

Apple was one of the companies, along with Nokia, Sony Ericsson, Motorola, LG, NEC, Qualcomm and other major industry participants.

Next year, a European standard for re-chargers, so no having to throw out the old when buying the new.

Me personally, I have been buying Nokia phones since I got my first cell phone in 1999. They have been reliable, had the features I wanted, and I have never had a problem with them except the occassional bizarre electronic glitches common to all things involving human interface and a bit of a neo-luddite owner. And because when I upgraded to a new design, the old accessories tended to work with the new product. Not so this last time I upgraded, last year, and I was really pissed at Nokia for it. I still haven’t replaced the plug-in earbud so I can talk hands free as required by California law these days because I shouldn’t have to. My old one should work. It did previous upgrades for my Nokia phones. I now just don’t answer the phone while driving, probably a really excellent solution in principle anyway.

So that’s me. I don’t like replacing items if they should still work in principle. I still miss the ring tone I chose for my first phone, because in my experience I only ever heard one other person use it while I was out and about.  He was an employee of Trader Joe’s on Pico in Santa Monica. I’m sure he no longer has that phone either.

So the obvious thing missing in the article linked above is when this same great agreement of a universal phone charger will take place in the U.S. phones. Or will it occur naturally as a trickle down effect? It’s not like we in the U.S. have so much more room in our landfills, it just isn’t an issue. It’s silly that there are so many different rechargers, unique to each brand, each phone, making it ridiculous to go sifting through boxes or drawers hotels keep of lost chargers found in their rooms, kept for other guests to use when they realize they forgot their own…. I know, I have looked through said boxes and drawers on more than one occassion.

So when. phone companies, does the U.S., – heck, all the rest of the world! – get a universally standard charger for their cell phones?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

