Bumbershoot

So today (should) find me in Seattle, at Bumbershoot. Apparently the 39th Annual Bumbershoot. In the 17 years that I lived in Portland, a mere three hour drive away, I never once attended. It happens every Labor Day weekend, so there need never be a conflict with a normal M-F office work schedule.

And since I am not attending Burning Man this year, there is no excuse not to go, other than the usual pesky arguments of sanity that include not actually having the money for it and what a long drive it is. Who cares? What’s that got to do with it? I bought my ticket when they were still cheap at $80, and just have to get there.

That’s where CouchSurfing and Craigslist come in. Last week’s trip to SF included transporting a Canadian CouchSurfer to SF, and some money contributed for that. This weekend includes taking a man and his two young sons to Portland so they can buy a car (not a bad idea, where there is no sales tax) and he can drive a stick shift, so I will hopefully not have to drive the distance all by myself. Nor pay for all the gas myself. These are good things.

Modest Mouse will be headlining on Monday, the whole point of my going. Franz Ferdinand that night too, Mt. St. Helens Band, whom I first saw at Bonnaroo, Hotels, U.S.E., Telekinesis, Head Like a Kite, Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head, Point Juncture, WA, are all bands I am looking forward to seeing. I have been downloading the mp3s off the Bumbershoot blog, and writing down the pointers I need to remember to have an enjoyable experience.

And my students for tutoring finally arrived in the mail to begin contacting. I have a job again, as soon as I schedule it for when I get back. No great income, but money coming soon. Reason enough to celebrate. By going to a music festival!

I only have one more actually scheduled to attend after this, VOODOO Fest in New Orleans for the Halloween Weekend, just booked my flight there and back. I am still waiting to hear if I get to be a volunteer for Treasure Island Music Festival, again in San Francisco, in which case I will go, since it is a two day, two stage only fest, so even volunteering, I get to hear everything. Austin City Limits, is a pass. Unless I get a job that requires me attending….. And the Bridge School Benefit, the little thing that Neil Young does to raise money for the school he started for his disabled son to attend, still hasn’t announced its line up, but is the weekend before Voodoo. Again, in the San Francisco area, at the Shoreline Amphitheatre. Just like every previous year…. built on the debris of a former garbage dump, it’s a nice grassy amphitheatre now. But no, I have commitments that weekend, I will not be attending. Unless the line up is really good…..

You can see how this goes, it is never ending. Thank god the season of Music Festivals is ending soon!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

