Disneyland Redux

As broke as I am, there was still money enough to go celebrate my friend’s birthday at Disneyland yesterday. It had been a planned ahead expense, nothing unexpected, thank goodness.

And as the rain falls over Los Angeles-land again today, I called to self-congratulate ourselves on picking the one day of very few lately that did not rain.

Since we both are Southern Californians by address, if not birth, we were able to get the TwoFer deal presently going on until April, and now must plan our other escapade to California Adventure, as we get to go there for free now, within the next 30 days. Perhaps next Monday, if the weather behaves.

An earlier start, and a certain someone not sleeping through his alarm clocks would help, as California Adventure closes a whole two hours earlier than Disneyland. It was the reason we ended up going there, since we were running about two hours later than we had planned. But I had a good book to read, while I was waiting, thinking he was already on his way, so I didn’t mind. That and Disneyland was where I wanted him to go to begin with anyway, it all worked out as my evil plan had intended. 

We are both looking forward to the next trip now. He hadn’t known what to expect of Disneyland, never having been, and never really paying attention when people talked about it, since he hadn’t gone.  

I got to see more of the park than I had before, visiting ToonTown, and riding Space Mountain and Indiana Jones’ Adventure this time, and the whirling Tea Cups, and Autotopia, but my friend did not get to experience the wonder that is “It’s a Small World,” as it was closed when we got to it. He also passed on Splash Mountain, the Matterhorn and Thunder Mountain. After Space Mountain, he was okay in the roller coaster department. I hope he didn’t pass strictly on my behalf, since I mentioned I don’t really enjoy them. I found myself closing my eyes tightly and squinching my body as small as possible towards the center of the cart as we flew around the corners and dropped suddenly. When I did open my eyes (without glasses as recommended), I found the walls were spinning and lights rotating, making me dizzy in and of itself. Tightly shut once again, so they remained.

The Indiana Jones ride was almost a roller coaster, but not. It was like Star Tours, hydraulic lifts and sudden braking to enhance the experience, but it actually moved on a track like a roller coaster. But just as it was about to gain enough speed to go really fast, LURCH! to a stop. For one not fond of roller coasters, this was an excellent substitute, without the stomach drops. The almost speed, the whipping corners, the hesitation before it really gets going, and then, STOP! I’m sure it’s frustrating for roller coaster lovers. And this time, someone walked up to us and handed us the FastPass tickets to bypass the 35 minute wait on that ride. He said he was leaving the park, and if we hadn’t gone yet, to use them. There was still a wait once inside, but we probably halved the time we would have spent. That was awesome in and of itself, passing all the patiently waiting other people, to be allowed to cut in line ahead of them, with everyone’s permission!

So all in all, great fun was had. Both fans of science fiction, science fantasy and Terry Gilliam, we spoke of the herding of humans, abattoirs and the daily human sacrifices that make Disney run, and started looking for alcohol as the hot sun of day wore on, singeing his brow and making us mighty thirsty. My friend would announce randomly to people that he was drunk, when we hadn’t had a drop to drink, and everyone would laugh nervously. The joy of messing with stranger’s heads!

As we drove the silent ride home from behind the Orange Curtain of Orange County back to LA, both of us exhausted, we discussed whether dinner was desired. Yes, then finally no. We both decided we were too tired, and I could tell for myself that being polite was starting to become a strain, I just wanted food and bed. He said pretty much the same thing. But when I started talking about bars and the happy hour research my girlfriend and I are conducting, how her tastes are a little more highbrow than mine, since I just don’t feel the urge to dress up to go have a drink, dive bars are just fine with me… he exclaimed “I love dive bars!”

And that was how we found ourselves, both professed exhausted, spending a few more hours together in a downtown dive bar, suddenly refreshed and animatedly discussing an evaluation system by which we could go and compare dive bars of Los Angeles by an accrued point system. Time Bandits played on the televisions above our heads, and then Back to the Future. We began drawing up a list of places we knew we could research, some West Side, some downtown, and some Valley. We decided we needed to get funding for such important research, and discussed whose third mortgage we should use, and since neither of us technically have mortgages, we would need to use someone else’s.

Any volunteers? He’s good with computers, and I’m good with spreadsheets, I’m sure we could whip up some really awesome website displaying our hard work and research, easily referenced, and of course, frequently updated. Maybe even an app to go with it.

 And thus concluded the day. He dropped me off at home, after I showed him a few more landmarks of downtown. He used to live downtown, before it got cleaned up and made as interesting as it is now, so it was all new to him.

In the continuing mystery of whether that might have been a date or not, for the first time that day, I finally heard him mention an ex-girlfriend. Apparently they are still close, since she called him up on his birthday to wish him a happy one, along with various members of his family. Since I hadn’t been sure if he dated women or not, I was glad he finally mentioned her. In fact, he mentioned ex-girlfriends three times that day. Could be the same one, who knows, but at least now I know he has dated women in the past. Doesn’t really help guide me as to where his present interests lie, or even his thoughts or intentions in my direction, but it is at least a start. He flirts with everyone, I notice, so it’s hard to tell.

No pictures were taken of Disneyland, to protect the identities of the guilty. That and the fact neither of us brought cameras, and my cell phone’s memory is presently all full, even after deleting a few more pictures. Oh well. Another time, right?

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Disneyland Redux”

  1. California Adventure « Red Room Salon Says:

    […] Today, I went to California Adventure. With the same partner in crime as last week’s Disneyland Redux. Seeing as we both now had free tickets, and both don’t have day jobs, of course we took […]

Leave a Reply

