Old Memories

Am in Pullman, Washington now, visiting an old friend from college, where we were roommates for an entire semester in the Old Dorm Block of Reed.

She remembers me saying various things that I have no recollection of, that amused her much at the time, they embedded in her brain so deeply, she can tell them to me now.

My Monday-Wednesday-Friday schedule of classes was such that I had back to back classes from 8 am all the way through noon. I had already given up trying to attend classes on a daily basis by then, had reduced my food intake to only 14 meals a week to help my parents save money, and wasn’t really studying.

This is what she tells me I said one day:

“Oh, I’m awake early, I can finally make it on time!”

“To class?” she asked. It was a little after eleven.

“No, to lunch!”

Even back then I skipped breakfast, but I had been oversleeping lunch, and I didn’t get any credit for meals missed, so it had been frustrating to be hungry and not be able to do anything about it.

Here’s another gem she mentioned I said:

“Hmm, I think I might be pregnant. We didn’t use protection, he was drunk and I had a cold; do you think the baby would be retarded?”

Wow.

Perhaps it’s just as well I don’t have a memory of this….

Leave a Reply

