Poem #1

Now, for today’s poem:

The Friend

I dispense advice,

so wisely,

he tells me of the on & off again

nature of his relationship,

and as soon as my mouth

stops yapping,

I realize nothing I tell him

is what I really want to say,

that he should suspect

my every word.

For as long as I’ve known

him,

I’ve hoped he would notice me,

(Pick me! Pick me!)

before I ever knew he had

a girlfriend.

But now they are on the rocks,

and I hope he notices me,

still,

the friend he can rely on,

the friend who helps him out in

a bind,

the friend he can rely on,

the friend who hopes to be more.

I have played this game before.

My intent is covert & my

Words are not to be believed.

-8/24/2010

Leave a Reply

