somebody has been paying attention

So Thursday, there was a kerfuffle in the office, and as a result, I was a little inattentive, my boss was a little flustered too and handed me the blank deposit slip for the account a deposit needed to be in, and I arrived at the bank to make the deposit that had to be done THAT DAY, and after waiting in the parking lot for a parking spot, I finally made it into the bank, stood in line, and as is my habit, I was looking over the deposit slip, the check,the account codes, to make sure all was correct and matched, AND…

I realized I had a deposit slip for the completely wrong bank. Oops.

Since work was a mere 1/2 mile away, I just turned around and went and got the correct pre-printed deposit slip and tried again.

Let me just say that the bank was busy, every teller with a customer, and I may have been first in line, but that was no guarantee it would be soon to speak with a teller.

When I came back, there was no line, and I went straight to the first teller available. It was the teller I frequently get, who asks about my weekends and sympathizes when I say I will be working, as will he.

He said he noticed me in line the first time and wondered what had happened. I explained I had the wrong bank deposit slip and figured it would help if I had the right one, the correct one for the bank I was standing in.

When I left I realized that was really pretty attentive of him, noticing me in the first place when the bank was so busy, and he with a customer. Hmmm.

When I mentioned the whole thing to my boss the next day, she knew exactly which teller I was talking about.

As I say, somebody has been paying attention. More than one somebody. But it certainly hasn’t been me. Next time I need to go to that bank, I will have to make a point of checking out whether a wedding ring can be seen on his hand.

Leave a Reply

